Finch Gathering
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

My Society Finches

2 posters

Go down

My Society Finches Empty My Society Finches

Post  FinchG Mon Oct 18, 2010 6:04 pm

I bought my first two finches on Wednesday, October 13, 2010. They are Society Finches and I have been reading all about them and then when I went to the bird store there they were. Since I am new to the finch world I am starting small and with an easier species. I will try to find as much information as I can on finches and post it here, that way I can have everything I need in one forum. I will try and add pictures soon, if they will set still.
I do not know what sex they are but I think I have one male at least he has made a small attempt at a song.

Admin
FinchG
FinchG
Founder-Admin
Founder-Admin

Eggs For Posting Eggs For Posting : 520

Back to top Go down

My Society Finches Empty Re: My Society Finches

Post  FinchG Wed Nov 10, 2010 9:25 am

I did say in my previous post that I thouht I had a male, but the more I read about males they all sing. My does not sing. When i first got them one of them would "chirp" loud for a second but no song. My daughter brought me one finch egg that a pet store was throwing in the trash because they were cleaning cages and she asked if she could have it. I put it in a nest to see if my two finches would sit on it. They ignored until the fourth day and then started incubating it and on the fifth day they decided to lay their own egg. They have continuted to lay one egg a day and as of 11/9 they have laid 7 eggs. I am pretty sure they are not fertile because I still think there both females and by putting the one egg in there from the pet store triggered the egg laying.
The pet store egg has been incubating for 14 days as of today 11/10, so I don't think it will hatch either.
Both of them incubate and only leave the nest one at a time.